Surbiton Men in Seventh Heaven once again

Men’s Hockey League Premier Division

Beeston 1 Surbiton 7

Surbiton scored seven goals for the second week running as Luke Taylor converted five penalty corners to take a strangle hold as the division’s leading goalscorer with one week to go.

At Nottingham Hockey Centre, Beeston started well, dominating possession in the early minutes and forcing two penalty corners in the first six minutes.

Surbiton stayed patient, building passing moves out of defence, but took the lead in the tenth minute through Taylor’s first penalty corner drag-flick.

Beeston just failed to equalise in the 19th minute when Adam Dixon dived and just failed to turn in Chris Proctor’s cross.

Two minutes later, Beeston experienced a dêja-vu moment when Taylor doubled Surbiton’s lead with a carbon copy penalty corner conversion.

Five minutes before half time, both teams played end to end hockey but Surbiton gradually managed to put pressure on the Beeston defence at the end of the first half.

As in the first half, Beeston dominated possession immediately after half time, but Surbiton extended their lead in the 47th minute as Taylor made it three out of three penalty corner conversions.


Three minutes later, Alan Forsyth put the finishing touch to another slick Surbiton passing move to score the first open play goal of the match.

In the 55th minute, Taylor was on target again with Beeston’s penalty corner defenders having no answer to Taylor’s expertise as Surbiton led 5-0.

Five minutes later Taylor made it five out of five to complete another spectacular individual scoring feat after scoring four goals at home to Brooklands Manchester University the week before.

With eight minutes left, David Goodfield put away Arjan Drayton Chana’s cross from the right to establish a stunning seven goal lead.

Beeston denied Surbiton a third successive clean sheet as Dixon’s drag-flick ended up in the top corner out of Gibson’s reach to grab a consolation goal on a disappointing afternoon for the Nottingham club.


Scorer: Adam Dixon 70-PC

Squad: Simon Hujwan (GK); Ollie Willars, Kyle Marshall, Robbie Gleeson, Joe Sharp, Nick Park, 

Adam Dixon (Capt.), Richard Lawrence, Chris Proctor, Elliot Barton, Morgan Males.

Subs: Jonas Holtmanns (8 mins), Lucas Ward (8), Alex Blumfield (11), Toby Stanley (11), Sam Apoola (11).

Cards: None


Scorers: Luke Taylor 10-PC, 21-PC, 48-PC, 55-PC, 60-PC; Alan Forsyth 51-F, David Goodfield 62-F.

Squad: Harry Gibson (GK); Luke Taylor, Rob Farrington, Jonny Gall (Capt.), Arjan Drayton Chana, 

Jonty Griffiths, Zach Wallace, Alan Forsyth, David Goodfield, James Gall, Conor Williamson.

Subs: Ben Boon (5 mins), Tom Sorsby (6), Theun De Leeuw (11).

Cards: None

Match Official: Christine O’Donovan.

Umpires: Lee Barron and Dan Reid.

Like this article?

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Linkdin
Share on Pinterest

Leave a comment

SanFair Newsletter

The latest on what’s moving world – delivered straight to your inbox
Verified by MonsterInsights